Leave a comment

Rustic fires and jerseys

Many many moons ago, I was a little girl in grade 1 and had this burly friend in grade 8 {true story} We were neighbours and he used to lift me up in the air πŸ˜‰ This morning I met him on my way to work and guess what he yelled from across the street “Heyya Jersey, too long a time!” To cut a long story short, Jersey was my nickname back in the day and you wouldn’t imagine why {that calls for some serious beef, lol}

Image

Crafted by master carver Steve Blanchard.

Rustic: a) made of the rough limbs of trees or b) a finishing done by rusticating. Don’t you love the sound of that? Does it not remind you of the countryside? Large pieces of wood lying around. Fireplaces etc?

Image

Whether the wood grain is curly, fiddle-backed or tiger-stripped, rustic pieces make sophisticated counter-top tables and mantels. That usually just means that the wood has a live edginess and has some defects in it {beauty has imperfection in it, right?}

Image

Rustic finishing and/or furnishing is ideal in creating a less formal and more ‘country’ living atmosphere. A roughly hewn mantel piece is a perfect compliment for a log cabin or fireplace especially.

Image

Woods as such chestnut, oak, black ash, poplar, pine and cherry make excellent wood for such as they have a soundness and character.

Image

That’s a design by Welby Young and Group. Loving the warm colours

Image

Rustic pieces feel honest, unstudied and bring with them a feel of charm and simplicity. They are a showcase of ingenuity

Image

Ron Boyd’s trophy room. There is something to it that is not quite appealing to me

Image

Wood and stonework. We are grounded πŸ˜‰

Image

Adored the simplicity on here in Jerry Pearson’s home.

Some stories I can share with you like this one I am about to πŸ˜‰

I was and still is, very easy to handle. Also, I have this noticeable dark area around my eyes that earned me the name jersey, lol! Back then they said that jersey cattle had dark areas around their eyes and were small but very productive. Thankfully, the name didn’t stick long. The traits did.

Now when I retire you can bet I’ll have me as many as several rustic pieces and jerseys in the backyard, at the countryside.

Tidy in ya souls day! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

